The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

A nation is built up by the people as a whole, not merely by a ruler, artists, and scientists. A Nation is not a collection of few individuals who collaborated together for the achievement of a common goal, rather it is a cohesive unit where each one can strive for its own goals in life and nation facilitates in it.

Most of the public is comprised of normal people hence if a nation is not working towards the betterment of their lives then it would be equivalent to some commercial organization whose sole purpose is profiteering. Creation of some art form will be appreciated by few individuals, it is not going to help in the betterment of masses. A great nation will naturally produce good scientists and artists. The general welfare of people does consider various needs of people, which includes artistic freedom and providing means for scientific advancement. The nation's job is to promote such things but not at the cost of general welfare, such as providing education, medical facilities, basic infrastructure, and other amenities that are required by people. Such a nation will definitely produce great work of arts and science. Ony when people have these basic facilities and they don't have to worry about them, they start to think, to express themselves through various other means, and arts and science is just that expression. So a flourished and prosperous a nation will produce great works of arts and science, it is not the other way round.