The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In d

What makes a nation great? I personally disagree with the claim that general welfare of citizen’s is a better indicator of nation’s greatness than achievements of rulers, artists or scientist. I believe that both of these factors are crucial in determining nation's status. Both of these factors have determined fate of various nations in history. Although general welfare of people is of more importance for ensuring social, economic and cultural progress is on a positive track but there are various other factors that also contribute to nation's glory.

United States is one of the best examples that has delineated the fact that nation can make a leap in progress when social well-being of people is ensured and significant achievements in field of science, arts and technology is made. It was industrial revolution that revolutionized European nations and made them economically strong which in turn improved well-being and welfare of their people. Thus it is evident from historical instances that achievements in science, politics and arts can lead to improved well-being of nation's citizen.

But the progress in such fields can be made given that general lifestyle of people is in good condition. Certain countries such as North Korea give least importance to welfare of people and instead has invested its entire funds into research of warfare such as nuclear ballistic missiles. In such extreme scenarios the nation is surely not going to progress and this makes it evident that without good welfare of its citizen no nation can progress even if it is focussed on achieving success in fields of science or any other domain. Another example of Idi Amin dictator of Uganda who was least concerned about well-being and was constantly in greed of power. His rule was characterized by rampant human right abuses, corruption, ethnic persecution. This led to degradation of Uganda's condition and Uganda went into extreme economic hardships. This example makes it clear that both general welfare of people and achievements in field of politics, science and arts go hand in hand and in absence of one other cannot flourish.

One can argue that general welfare of people is the most important factor to judge a nation's greatness but this extreme claim cannot be justified. We have examples of great scientific innovations that have dramatically improved people’s lifestyle and made countries super powers of the world. If electricity would not have been discovered by Thomas Edison, people still would have been using gas lamps and industrial revolution would have not taken place if Nikola Tesla would have not come up with his idea of using alternating current in place of direct current. Ramanujan, an unorthodox mathematician put India into map of modern mathematics. Satyendra Nath Bose with his ground-breaking research on Bosons made India one of the important countries contributing to the field of Physics. Mangalyaan Mars orbiter mission added on to the glory of India in field of space research. Satyajit Ray won lifetime achievement Oscar award for is work in cinema.

From all this example it is clear that the advancement in field of politics, arts and science contributes greatly to nation's greatness as does the well-being and welfare of people of nation. Hence it is necessary for a country's leader to create a conducive environment for its people by good governance and welfare. This in turn encourages individuals to excel in their field of and bring glory and ensure well-being of his or her country and fellow citizens.