"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The business manager claims that due to increased duration of the national news in late night program and cut down on timing of the weather and local news there has been reduction in viewers and advertisement revenue of television station. The statement is obscure and needs more facts and clarification to bolster its claim. Also, the manager makes several unwarranted assumptions which makes argument seem dubious.

Firstly, manager does not aver the amount of time for which the national news, weather and local news are broadcasted. Also, the manager hasn’t specified what were the original timings of both the programmes. Also, the manager doesn’t delineate whether the weather and local news program was curtailed by 10 minutes or by 2 hours. Without knowing the factor by which the original show timings have been altered it will be unwise to blame the changed duration as reason for fall in number of viewers.

Secondly, without elucidating the context of the complaints received for coverage of weather and local news the manager obfuscates his reasoning. It might be the case that viewers might have requested for a change in timing such as early morning broadcast of the weather forecast and local news show which might be completely unrelated to the claim that manager presents.

Also, manager should present figures clearly stating the number of complaints received and what geographical region does the complainant belong to. Such information might help to understand if there are different requirements for different geographical region. It might be the case that people in particular time-zone are requesting for extended timing of weather and local news but it might not be acceptable to majority of other viewers. In that case deciding to restore the original timing may further exacerbate the situation.

Thirdly, the manager states that the local businesses have cancelled advertising contracts with them but fails to justify reasons for the same. Manager should contact local businessman and try to find out reasons for it. Local business could have cancelled their late-night advertising contracts as generally there are less viewers who watch television programs during such time period. It may also be the case that relationship of television station with the local businesses have deteriorated over past. Also, it might be the case that the businessmen are revamping their advertisement strategy as a result of which they might be moving towards online advertisements and consequently cancelled the contract. So, manager should clearly state the reasons for which contracts were cancelled to make his argument more cogent.

The claims made by manager are obscure and flawed and are based on vague terminologies and erroneous assumptions. It is clear that the manager needs to come up with the facts and figures to back his claims. Consequently, the manager should provide answers to the above questions before arriving to the decision whether to restore the original program timings.