The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree

The statement claims that in order to solve environment problems caused by consumer-generated waste, towns and cities should impose strict limits on amount of trash that they will accept from each household. This statement aims to solve waste management problem by reducing amount of waste generated but this solution is impractical and is bound to fail. Also, this statement is parochial as it only suggests to restrict waste generation in cities and towns but doesn't suggest any waste management solution for rural areas which might also be a major contributor to amount of waste generated.

Although government of a nation can issue guidelines and urge its citizen to reduce amount of waste, they generate on daily basis but this can reduce waste generation only up to a certain extent. Moreover, if stringent policies are enforced to encourage less waste generation then this may lead to people dumping waste illegally and thereby causing more environment problems. It is impractical for citizens to reduce waste generation beyond a certain limit and therefore other effective waste management techniques also needs to be employed concurrently.

In tandem with issuing guidelines for reducing trash generated daily, there are many other techniques which can be employed for effective waste management. One such solution is to create market for home-made compost and encouraging citizens to use biodegradable kitchen waste for creating compost. Thus, citizen will be able to earn some money as well as able to contribute to reduced waste generation. This will also help economy of country and will reduce use of non-renewable energy source for energy generation.

For non-biodegradable waste such as plastic which is detrimental to environment as it doesn't decompose in environment, one of the solution can be to use process of incineration which involves combustion of organic substances contained in waste materials. It converts waste into ash, fuel gas and heat. One might argue that this solution may cause surge in pollution because of carbon footprint but this process produces paucity of pollutants and is comparatively much better than land filling of waste.

One can challenge above solution by asserting that it can create economical burden and requires pecunious government for setting infrastructure required. But this solution is much more practical and feasible when compared to forcing citizens to reduce waste generated. Thus the problem of waste management can be judiciously addressed if citizens are encouraged to manage their waste effectively rather then enforcing strict policies which might cause illegal dumping of waste by them.