Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company suggests to increase advertising budget for next year in order to create awareness among people about movies released by the production house. He has given a report which claims that due to lack of effective advertisement, people are unaware about availability of good quality movies even though positive movie reviews have ameliorated for certain movies. The director's claim is unwarranted and needs to provide answers to below questions to bolster his claim.

Firstly, the director uses vague terminology to describe the changes that have occurred in past few years. The director states that fewer people attended their movies but he does not quantify how many fewer people attended the movie. Whether two thousand or twenty thousand fewer people attended movie? Director needs to present figures in order to back his claim. Also, he avers that percentage of positive reviews have increased in past year but does not specify the numbers and duration for which it had increased.

Secondly, the director obscures his claim by mentioning that positive reviews have increased for specific movies but by not specifying for which movies. It might be possible that positive reviews have increased for fewer percentage of movies compared to overall number of movies released by production house. In that case advertising reviews won’t help to attract more audiences to Super Screen produced movies. Also, director needs to specify what kind of critics gave positive review to the Super Screen produced movies. Nowadays many critics are partisan and can be paid to write good reviews. In such scenario’s audience are clever enough to identify whether a review is genuine or not by reconciling it with reviews of other genuine critics.

Lastly, the director claims that reviews are not reaching to target audience but he does not justify his claim. Neither does he delineate what are the current mediums of advertisement. It is unwise to relate fewer audience attending movies to ineffective marketing. It might be the case that movies are released on working days or movies that are being produced have same genre and are not creative or innovative enough to attract audience. The director needs to answer such questions before establishing any such relation. Also, to understand the core of problem director can directly take feedback from target audience in form of online questionnaire. In this way, the director can be sure that he is not missing out on any critical piece of information.

Director has arrived to a conclusion without any robust statistical data backing it and has advised production house to increase the budget for marketing. The conclusion is abstract and misleading as he has not considered any other factors which might have affected the number of people attending movies produced by Super Screen Movie Production Company. Thus, the director’s argument is vague and unjustified. He needs to answer above questions and come up with facts and figures to back his claim. So, according to me recommendation provided by director is not reasonable.