To get agreement from the people who support one’s idea is not difficult since they have a kind of affective commitment and many overlooked statements. However, when facing with a person who hold a opposite view, a man is always alert and tends to catch every thing that seems disputable, sometime it will even evolve into a kind of prejudice. If there is any hole, the opponent will spare no effort to attack it. Only get everything prepared, can an argument stand the test. Thus if someone want to convince others in the opposite position, he will face to contradictions based on a wide range of different evidence, so he needs to prepare more evidence and gives a more overall and more convincing statement to overcome the affective disturbance and the bias of his opposite.

However, convincing the opponent is not always the purposes of an argument so that we can not judge the argument only by the ability to convincing dissenters. it is just a requirement based on the position of opponent that the author try to convinced, and does not means that the argument is satisfying enough in all situation. Some times an good argument is to make more people agree with the author, maybe opponent or just those neutral. Besides, since different people may face different circumstances, one man's trash is another man's treasure. For example, raising taxes on the rich to boost spending on poverty is a good thing for the poor, but persuading the rich to do so is next to impossible. It is reasonable to judge it by how much it can persuade the middle class.

Another reason contradicting the argument is that opponents’ attitudes are likely impacted by other subjective factors such as the pressure of their colleagues or the shame of not willing to admit mistakes. Abandon a former view and get to the opposite of one’s previous camp is always not easy emotionally, because it may means that one will be the enemy of his former friends , which may lead to a kind of lonely and helpless. And it is awkward for most people to admit their precious views are not right, since mistakes may make people seems stupid in a way. Just imagine a person who has argued his point of view until he is red in the face, he may have to say something opposite to his former assertion, refuting his firm allegation as people he had scorned, how embarrassing it is. Take all of this in to consideration it is not objective enough to evaluate an argument by what degree can it convince it’s opposing view holder.

An argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint may reflect the level of the argument to some extent, but it is not proper to test it all by this.