Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Government officials are people elected by the people for the people and are of the people. In a democratic government the officials work for the better of both the nation’s people and equally themselves. The prompt recommends that officials should rely on their own judgment and not unquestioningly implement the will of the people that they serve. I strongly agree with the recommendation and argue that the will of the people cannot always be true and the official knows better and can make a better judgment.

In a democracy, the people elect their representatives and hence one among the people, focused on working towards the betterment of the populace, is often the leader. The leader of the party campaigns towards leadership by citing what would happen if he was elected as the leader. So people make a good judgment about the leadership and implementation capabilities of the leader which is why the more capable person who aligns with the people’s interests is in most cases the leader of a country. If the leader cannot make his own judgment about a policy and instead carry out the will of the people, his leadership qualities become questionable. What if he listens only to a subset of the people who advocated for the policy? Does that particular subset become representative of the population as a whole? In most cases, it is not the case as people work towards their motives and hence propagandize their interests. If the official listens to them and implements the policy it would mean that he is ignoring the larger percentage and favoring the subset. This not only raises the question of his judgment but also concerns about the fickle nature of his implementation. If he unquestionably carries out every such ‘wills’ it would only cause chaos to the policies of the country.

Further, a leader solely following his own judgment without considerations for the will of the people is also not a good one. This would mean all his propaganda about creating a better nation was all a facade and he was only interested on himself and ‘his’ people in the first place. It could even be called a narcissistic rule to some extent. In contrast to that, a good leader listens to both this own judgment and the will of the people. He will always find a middle ground in case the intention of the parties involved are conflicting. The parties involved would also be happy with the positives of the policy.

In conclusion, a good leader or official has the judgment to make good decisions for the people which is why he was either elected or offered the job to serve the people in the first place. Unquestioningly carrying out the will of the people is not a characteristic that a good leader in most cases has. In the case he does just that, his position in holding the said power becomes unstable as a result of his capriciousness and not adhering to the wills of the people even to a small extent.