The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the article argues that Clearview is a top choice for anyone seeking for a place to retire. To support his argument, the author cites housing costs, mayor’s promises and the excellent health care services offered, unconvincingly and makes several assumptions. In order to improve the persuasiveness of his argument, the author must offer evidence regarding the following three assumptions.

Firstly, the author assumes that housing costs having fallen significantly is a positive thing. Perhaps, the houses in Clearview are arcane and deteriorating as a result of non maintenance and thus the housing prices have fallen. It is also possible that the conditions of the environment surrounding Clearview is not healthy and thus most buyers do not prefer Clearview housing. Perhaps, there is a factory discharging harmful pollutants through air. If that is the case, the prospect of Cleaview as a retirement place does not hold water. It might add on to the expenses of the people desiring to retire when they cannot earn money anymore and thus would not prefer to renovate a deteriorating house. The author has to provide evidence that Clearview housing are in good condition for old people to move in without much hassles in terms of maintenance or renovation. It would also be helpful if conditions of the environment, such as air quality, are healthy enough for old people to live in.

Another one of the argument’s deficiencies is that the author assumes that the mayor of Clearview has funds to implement his promises. Perhaps, the mayor wants to improve the living conditions by building better schools or streets and public services but what guarantees that he has the funds to actually implement them. Maybe he has plans but has no intention to follow it through and just wants to embezzle the money funded for the project. Moreover, what attraction do schools have for old people. In most cases, old people have children who are married and do not have any parental obligations. Perhaps their grandchildren would visit them during their holidays but their grandchildren would not go to schools in a place where they retire. Maybe retired people would be happier with parks or public spaces for gatherings instead of schools. If that is the case, the mayor’s promises hold little attraction and the author has to provide more information about the details of the plans of the mayor such as how soon would the project be completed, what attractions do improvement in public services and streets hold for old retired people.

Finally, one of the most glaring deficiencies of the argument is that the author assumes that retirees in Clearview can expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average. It is possible that the number of physicians exceed the national average because most of the retired physicians live in Clearview. It is also possible that the national average of physicians is quite low and hence the number of physicians exceeding the national average is not a comprehensive number. If that is the case, the author should provide data about the national average of the physicians and what health care retirees can expect to better justify his claim.

In sum, the argument made by the author as it stands now is not convincing enough for a retiree to make a decision to move to Clearview. The author should provide further evidence perhaps, a survey or research data of the housing and environment conditions, the national average of physicians and the health care benefits and also about the plans of the mayor and his funding, to vindicate his argument that Clearview is a top choice to retire.