“Governments are justified in circumventing civil laws when doing so is vital to the protection of national security.”

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

Who defines when and where to draw the line for the line drawers themselves? When it comes to the government, there persist certain ambiguities about the enforcement of certain laws, such as civil laws, and the power given to the government in cases of national security. While some people may agree that the government would be justified to circumvent such laws in some cases, this ultimately gives the government a magisterial domain to exercise their power, and they may do so without catering to the interests of it’s citizens, which is of primal importance.

During recent escalations of riots in the state of Kashmir due to a long custody war over the state between the countries of India and Pakistan, emergencies in the area have been raised over the years. This was done in interest of protecting the inhabitants, due to the danger posed to the military personnel residing in the area by the neighbouring country’s army, by bombings, killings, violent protests and so on. The government, during such times, posed a curfew on the state, and did not object to, or attempt to rectify, any destruction of property and assets such as cars and buildings of civilians that occurred during this course, since it was in interest of national security. However, because of this, millions of dollars worth in damages were incurred by civilians, and were not made up for. This ultimately posed a major challenge for civilians themselves, who found themselves caught in a lose-lose situation, with the government not only imposing restrictions on their daily routine, but also dredging up sizeable losses in terms of money and assets.

The circumstances of civilians who are subjected to the effect of circumventing these laws can be dire, and pose major inconveniences and problems that may persist for years to come. Tens of thousands of families lost their vehicles during the Kashmir riots, leaving them without any mode of transportation to work, school or any destination. When the government decides to get around such laws in interest of its citizens, it fails to account for the consequences of doing so. A substantial number of these families were also forced to deal with the issue of bankruptcy due to this.

When a matter of national security is posed to the citizens of a country, however, the primary duty of the government is to ensure the safety of its people by protecting their lives. For instance, in event of a coup or any such violent occurrences, it is incumbent of the government to protect its citizens’ lives, and to do so, some laws may have to be relaxed so that the government can ensure safety. However, ultimately, the losses here only compound to suffering of the people.

In conclusion, though the government’s responsibility remains the protection of its citizens in cases of national security, it is not justified in circumventing civil laws to do so, since this defeats the purpose of wellbeing if its citizens.