Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presents a case for concluding the origin of Palean baskets, and analyses its indigenous nature. This account is largely based on archaeological surveys, discoveries and geographical evidence. However, to make an accurate deduction, we require additional and more germane evidence that spans historical and cultural areas too.

To determine that the style is “Palean”, archeological surveys must be conducted globally after analysing the settlements of the Palean people outside of Palea too. Sufficient historical accounts must be available to determine these movement patterns, along with information about their cultural and religious tendencies which would help narrow down possible presence of these communities. By looking into drawings and inscriptions, such data can retrieved too.

When sufficient facts and information about the distribution of the Palean people has been obtained, archaeologists can then perform a thorough searching of these areas and make a comprehensive comparison of the baskets found and their distinctive styles. If the styles match in all these areas then the presented arguement that Palean baskets are not unique may not hold.

Sociological and cultural factors largely influence a region’s art and craft. By understanding the major influences on the Palean people, the basket weaving style of these influences can be analysed and compared to see the possible similarities. If significant, this evidence would further strengthen the argument.

An accurate understanding of the geography of Palea would play a major role in supporting or weakening the argument. The Brim River may have been a recent formation due to causes such as landslides or earthquakes which may have altered the course of another water body. If such is the case, then the region across the Brim River may have also been Palea itself, majorly weakening the argument presented. Information about the layout of the region over many decades and centuries would provide the basis for drawing such conclusions.

Additional evidence and supporting information about a myriad of factors affecting the Palean people is required to draw stable conclusions as presented.