Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

One responsibility of any government is to make the life of its constituents better, both socially and economically. To do this, the government should focus on solving problems that plauging the social and economic well-being of its people. The question is, should government focus on short-term problems or dedicate more time to expected future problems? Both sides of this argument has its advantage and disadvantage.

Solving immediate problems of today, such as improving healthcare amenities, will result in a healthier society. For instance, with the recent COVID infections, a country like Brazil was hit the hardest as its health infrastructures was not well equipped to deal with the overwhelming number of cases in the country. If the government had concentrated on improving the health sector, perhaps many COVID-related deaths could have been avoided.

There is also the education sector which is one that requires immediate attention as it defines the future of any society. In the United State, research has shown that counties that have low budget appropriated to education have a higher crime rate. Places like Chicago which in the past was more prosperous for their art, did not invest well in educating its community. Overtime, this has resulted in higher crime rate in the area as well as even more reduced education standard for its people. The situation may have been different had the government concentrate on education more by building better schools, paying teachers better, creating programs that encourage students to remain in school rather than go for the flashy but fleeting life that exists outside the school walls.

On the other hand, a scenario that supports focusing on long-term problems is the case of preserving natural resources. For example, at the moment, deforestation does not seem like a problem for today. In another 20 years or less that might not be the case. We might not have conducive environment for wildlife, also places for recreational activities such as hiking, camping, e.t.c. If laws are not put in place today to curb felling of tress, we might be looking at a future with many high-rise building but no beautiful greenries.

In conclusion, while it is pertinent for goverments to focus on immediate problems, dedicating time and resource to future problems is also relevant to its long-term posterity.