Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The author recommends government funding for any student admitted to a university but is unable to afford the fees. I agree to an extent with this policy which from a high level, this seems like a good policy that will promote literacy in the community. However, one should also consider the impact of driving this policy.

First, there has to be clear definition of “who cannot afford tuition”. If this policy is implemented in a community where majory of its population live in poverty and every child in each family gets admitted to the university, this means that the government will have to foot the bill for a lot of people. There is also the concern of corruption. For instance in a corrupt governmemt, we can find cases of wealthy people who are truly able to afford tuition, lying about their income so their children can be afforded free university education

Also, there is the case of overall economic situation of the government where this policy is to be implemented. In a flourishing government, it will not be so much a burden as other sectors will likely not be impacted by this policy. However, if this government is already strugging with basic amenities such as health, food, housing etc., initiating this policy will be additional strain on it which might in turn cause the government to go bankrupt and its people suffer ever more

On the other hand, implementing a free university if eleigible has its plus. Students will focus more on getting an education and in the long term after graduating can work in the government to help make policies that will improve overall well-being of the community. Stories have been told of scholarship students who on graduating have come back to their community and made impacts such as becoming teachers, health practisioners and even government officials. Thus improving the community

In conclusion, offering free education to any student offered university admission but cannot afford tuition is a good policy which will result in prosertity of the government and community at large. This depends on how well it is implemented, by weighing its impact on the government and defining strict eligibility criteria.