Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

There are diverse sets of problems attacking the globe either in immediate vicinity or in the long run that governments should deal everyday. Each government have their own sets of policies and tactics to deal with those problems. The author raise that issue that whether a government should focus on the immediate and exigent problems or should rather focus on problems that are anticipated in future. I mostly disagree with the authors assertion for two reasons mentioned below and rather argue that government should focus on the anticipated in future. However, i do concede that ,in some cases, immediate problems that need immediate attention of government should be taken care of.

To embark, with the world passing the phase of industrial revolution and currently at the hands of corporate businesses, the problem of pollution accumulated by industries are exacerbated to next level. The problem of climate change is strongly associated with the problem of pollution and carelessness of people. Although these problems may seem to be at the control and some drastic effects is not seen yet, governments all around the world are nonchalance about the risk it poses for future generations. The assertion that the earth will not be habitable in 50 years is potentially true, if the rate of pollution and global warming continues at the same pace. Governments should thus put efforts to eradicate these problems and pave a path of sustainability for upcoming generations. Is is justifiable to reap off all the natural resources and to destroy the habitat for future generation?

Secondly, problems that are expected to hit hard in future are generally viewed as neglegient by most governments and have incurred severe costs for that neglegience. Foe instant; Locust attack in Nepal in 1993, which destroyed nearly 60% of the country's food was because of the government inability to take actions at appropriate time. Had they devised some strategies beforehand that problem could have been solved with ease.

Thirdly, governments in their efforts to solve problems anticipated, that can potentially happen in future, should not completely blindfold themselves of the problems in front of their sight. For instance; Covid-19 pandemic that hit the world very hard in 2020, if not given due care by government can result to some great problems at instant. Governments, in an attempt to tackle with anticipated problems should not remain nonchalant in cases like these.

In conclusion, problems, immediate problems and anticipated problems, are both that should be dealt by government and are complex topic to take a side. But when to take a side and deal with, i mostly disagree with the issues presents and argue that government should rather focus on long term problems rather than anticipated problems for future.