Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain y

Government is an institution comprising of a group of authorized people to govern a state and its citizens. While it is its duty to mitigate any problems when they arise, whether it is related to finance, health or law, it is also its responsibility to be proactive and prevent problems from occurring in the future. Hence, I do not support the statement that the government should only focus on today's immediate problems while giving a blind eye to problems that are likely to occur in the future.

Most of the problems that we face today are a direct result of insufficient efforts of the previous governments in addressing them. For instance, a number of governments from the last century focused mostly on economic betterment and supported an unchecked growth in industries and transportation. Their policies were impervious to the likelihood of environmental degradation predicted then and it has now become the burden of the current government to take measures to address these issues. While ameliorating the current situation, it is also the responsibility of the government to make sure that we put enough effort to address future problems we can anticipate so as to not repeat the mistakes of the past and thus reduce the burden that our future kind will face.

Also, there are a plethora of instances in history where attempts to solve future problems have produced solutions for problems existing in the present. As an example, investment in space technology, in order to make inter planetary travel possible in the future, has led to the invention of high resolution low latency satellites useful in a wide range of present day applications such as agriculture, surveillance and disaster management. The government, while not fully investing in it, can emphasize on addressing future problems in a way that can produce answers to current issues in a synergistic manner.

It is true that there are times when a state will face emergencies, e.g. war and under such situations it wouldn't be wise to be talking about the problems of the future. For instance, the last decade saw a few cases of disease outbreaks like the deadly Ebola virus. Under such circumstances, it makes sense for the government to direct all its attention to preventing further outbreaks and push efforts to find remedies for the disease. However, once the disease is controlled, the government cannot just relax and wait for the next disease to attack. It is its responsibility to take precautionary measures in the form of investment in medical research and infrastructure. Like the saying goes, 'prevention is better than cure'.

In conclusion, I believe that investing resources in problems anticipated in future is necessary for a progressing society. It is the duty of the government to recognize and predict these dormant problems and address them in a sustainable way. And it has to be flexible in doing so, in order to account for any emergencies that can occur in the immediate future.