The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree

The premise that limiting the amount of trash that will be accepted from each household might appear rests on a belief that doing so will compel humans to reduce wastage, which in turn will reduce pollution and exploitation of the environment. But however, I believe that such a proposal has a considerable amount of demerits that one cannot overlook.

Firstly, we need to ask if it is reasonable of the government or municipality to expect households to limit their wastage. While over time they might get used to this, there will be times when the wastage produced can go above the permitted threshold. In such a situation, there is no clear solution on how households can dispose the remaining waste. This might force them to take actions such as burning the waste in the backyards or littering in abandoned localities, which have both health and environmental impacts.

Also, the proposal only looks at reducing waste generation and not on recycling. While reducing wastage is important, it is equally important to encourage recycling and limit resource consumption. The municipality should support initiatives that promote the act of recycling and encourage users to consume resources that are recyclable. Further, it does not make sense if the government imposes a restriction on the amount of recyclable and reusable trash that they will accept.

Thirdly, the above statement has an inherent assumption that households are the biggest source of wastage. While households do account for a good amount of the generated waste, we should also hold industries, corporates and vehicles accountable for pollution. The government has to enforce stricter norms for safe wastage and sustainable usage of resources and also provide incentives for technological advancements with regards to the same.

In conclusion, while it is important to self regulate wastage produced in household, this cannot be the sole factor is relieving the environment form its problems. The government has to encourage recycling and invest in infrastructure to improve the current state of waste management.