Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

As the recommendation says about the investment in Arts and Military, I would agree with the word importance here instead of investment (assuming investment here refers to monetary portion).Because we can't compare high cost paid for defense purposes with the development costs in arts field.

Firstly development of arts is something which can provide public a new developed field where the interested people can happily enroll or get employed instead of getting into traditional fields of science and mathematics just because of good jobs opportunities. So basically arts development will increase the diversity and will provide the benefits we can get from the people expert in arts subjects for overall national development. It can help in the quality of diplomatic relations we have with other nations.

Secondly promoting arts will make people more aware of the origins and history of the nation they are living in. It will help making people remember the struggles their ancestors have put in to create a peaceful society they are living in.These things can trigger socialist movements or non-profit organizations working towards betterment of the society.

Whereas when it comes to military investment we can't just show our back. With the increasing terrorists organizations across the world, it won't wise to loose any thread when it comes to defense expenditure. We surely need at least that capability that we can defend ourselves in the worst scenarios.

In conclusion I do agree with investing equally in terms of importance in both Arts and military, as both resolve their own purpose and both of them are needed for overall development.