The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

Well the recommendation is regarding the veiwership for the Super screen Movie Production company , which has decreased last year. And to mitigate the issue the advertising director is suggesting for exra funds as he is assuming the issue is with the advertising front of it, and needs more portion on the budget next year for better advertisement. It does looks convincing provided the assumptions evident in the argument are actually analysed and reviwed before making the recommendation.

First assumption present is regarding the recent report, which says count of people viweing the movies of concerned production has decreased. There is no information supporting for this claim which guarantees reduced count is due to the decrement in popularity of movies of this production house. There are numerous factores which can cause this decline, namely count of movies relaesed compared to previous years which can decrease the count of people coming. This count would have been more helpful if it says the proportion of viewing people per movie has changed. Then it would have strongly implicated that there is certainly the issue with the quality or content of the movie.

Second, the point regarding the percentage of positive reviews, for this to be valid we need to make sure we are comparing this percentage between the years when we have same total number of people viewing. It could be highly uncertain to conclude on the quality of the movie by comparing this parameter. It would be helpful to review those positive reviews, and to check whether those positive reviews are coming for same aspects of the movies or they are for some other aspect, which can happen if this the content displayed the movie might have changed and which is not a attractive one for the mass public. In this view it's not the advertising which has caused the decrease it instead the content which has changed.

Thirdly, the generalization of director regarding good movies and direct proportionality with the amount of viewers. Movie topics could be widely varying and could be attractive to different set of people and their preferences. It would be naive to say good movies will always provide you mass viewership. In addition to the content , its possible the cast used in movies might have changed. Maybe a new actor has been introduced who doesn't have that fan base to attract the public or might the cast used might have someone