The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Argument discusses about loss in revenue of a television station which it says is due to increased time to national news rather than weather or daily content in their late night news program .

Firstly thing to point out is what kind of complaints from the viewers are coming regarding station's coverage of local or weather news. There is no clarity if these complaints are coming for their late night news, and also considering they are late night's show complaints what exactly are the complaints about. We need to analyse complaints first and figure out if they have some coherency in the point they all are making or is there any common content in most complains whcih says lack of local/weather content last year.

Secondly the assumption is coming in reason cancelling of advertising contracts with their company. It might be possible they have some pricing related issues and they are getting better offers from other stations. There might be some technical disagreement with the advertiserments companies which is making them rescind to this television station. Reasons given by advertising companies to break ties needs to analysed before coming to the conclusion they are leaving because of lack of viewership.

It is possible that some other station has been newly launched last year with better revenue packages for advertising companies and improved quality in news delivery or appearance for viewers. Overall national stats have to be studied regarding what news content is being viewed majorly during late hours before coming to the conclusion the revenueis falling due to introduction of national news. Maybe prople would like to watch national news but this station doesn't have attractive news anchors or good content to attract viewership.

So its possible the argument given by manger that reduction in local or weather news has caused the increase in complaints and cancelling of advertisement constracts but above assumptions needs to be ruled out before taking any decsion otherwise aim to avoid further revenue reduction or