Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Education makes the foundation of a nation. Certainly, it is the responsibility of the government to entertain its' citizen with proper knowledge and education. In this connection, many people argue that government should make the secondary and post-secondary education free to everybody. In my opinion, government should make the primary education free, however, the expense of the college and university education should never be fully covered by the government. I would illustrate my opinion with two specific examples in this writing.

First of all, government has limited amount of funds available and it has many obligations to do for its' people. Higher level education requires sophisticated equipment, expert teachers and other necessary facilities. If the government spends all its' fund that have been gathered from the tax of the general mass, it won't contribute to the development of the communities. As a consequence, the nation will have educated people with broken infrastructure of the nation. Eventually, the graduates will decide to leave their motherland for better opportunities. Consider the migrants of Canada, USA or UK who are actually the citizen of any third world country like Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Myanmar etc. Most of them take the asylum because of the scare opportunities of their home land. If this continues,the rate of migration will be higher in the future. Although it adds cultural diffusion and diversity, those people can contribute more to their nations if they get enough support from the government. Therefore, the government should distribute its funds to the development of the nation in all dimensions, not only to educate the children until they become graduates.

Secondly, although primary education is consistent for all students, there are divisions in college and university education. For instance, students can pick the elective courses based on their preferences. Besides, students pick university according to the lab facility, infrastructure and other benefits which are varied from university to university. If the government wants to make the education free, it has to ensure that the facilities are uniform for all institutions. This is impractical because a business graduate does not need the advanced lab equipment like an engineering background. Similarly , a student from historical background does not need to access computers to attend programming contest or to do business mathematics. Therefore,it should be decided by the appropriate institutional authority about which type of programs they would like to offer and the corresponding fees. The government may monitor and regulate the schemes but it should never bear all the expenses of the college or university grads.

To summarize, it is a long-held belief that government plays the most vital role to educate the people and that's why it should make the education free of charge. I strongly feel that it is not the right option to let the government bears all the educational expenses for college or university students.