According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus ,all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the prompt, the Groveton college has become successful to drop the cheating cases by the students by replacing the old honor code with a new one. It cites the evidence of the reduction of cheating incidence from one year to the following year and also the findings from a student survey to justify the recommendation. Although the recommendation sounds well-suited at a first glance, there are three specific questions that need to be answered before accepting the claim.

To begin, is the recent report of increasing number of cheating true for Groveton college? It may be possible that the report has mentioned clearly the name of the colleges and universities which are accused of higher cheating incidents and Groveton's name was not there. Perhaps, Groveton college was one of the pioneer colleges who kept the cheating rate in control by the faculty honor code. If any of the above mentioned circumstances become true, the recommendation will hold no water. Therefore, the writer needs to answer this question properly to accept his perspective.

Secondly, are the students free from biased behavior? It is inarguably true that a student will care for his friend will never want to led him into troubles. In this connection, it may be possible that the number of cheating cases have been increased many folds but other students don't report them to maintain their friendships. Perhaps, the students who do fraudulent activities during exam, threatened other students not expose them in front of the teachers. If any of the above point becomes true, the outcome of the Groveton College as mentioned in the prompt is highly possible and clearly demonstrates the opposite of the claim of the author. Therefore, without the satisfactory response to this question, the argument is seriously weakened.

Last but not the least, does the survey represent the current scenario as a whole? It may be possible that students who are involved in forgery during exams are the respondents of the survey. Or, it is also a possibility that the majority of the students who participated in the survey did not know the previous honor code which was ruled out five years ago. If any of the aforementioned incidents become true, the argument as a whole is seriously flawed and we can't agree with the recommendation. Therefore, the prompt writer has to add detailed response to this question as well.

To conclude, the cheating incident is certainly a threat to every college as well as university and it is certainly a appreciable gesture by the Groveton college to reduce the number of cheats. However, the current approach as suggested by the writer has some serious fallacies because of avoiding answering some obvious questions as mentioned in my writing. If the author can provide satisfactory responses to these questions, the argument will be warranted and we can agree with his claim.