Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is undeniable to refute that with the advancement of technology, the world has become more progressive. This dynamic attitude of our globe has made such rapid changes that most of us can't cope with the fluctuation. Many people start believing that quick changing of the earth make the lives of modern people dissatisfied and frustrated. I also agree with the idea that drastic changes have made our lives difficult and unstable compared to the lifestyle of our old generations which often result in obsession, frustration and unhappiness. I will provide three possible reasons behind my claim.

First of all, the fast changing makes the people feel less competent and less confident. People who can't adjust with the changes are often considered laggards which make them demotivated. They start losing interest to survive and their life don't attract them anymore. This situation is more common to the teenagers. Young generation who can't afford the latest developments often treat their lives unnecessary. In worst case scenario, it results in suicidal attempts too. For example, a recent article of the Economists shows that the suicide rate of US youths is raising alarmingly. After an investigation, it reports that the inability to cope up with their friends in terms of technological adaptation make them obsesses with their lives. Therefore, it is actually the groundbreaking change of the world which makes the life of our young generation miserable. In contrast, our past generation doesn't face drastic changes during their times. Certainly, there were changes but those were stable and gradual. People could afford those changes with the passage of time and become happy.

Secondly, quick changing makes our generation needy and greedy. We can't be happy with what we have. We always hanker after more and more which inhibits the growth morality and ethics in ourselves. We now consider adopting unfair means as a justified action since satisfying our needs is the prime priority. A recent study on Maslow's need theory shows that people are now focusing to the next level of needs on a greater scale compared to the people of nineteenth century: results in increasing number of crimes and fraudulent activities. However, our past generation was not facing that enormous changes during their era. They used to think simple and their requirements were also very rudimentary as well. As a consequence, they could lead a peaceful and happy life.

Last but not the least, our focus has been shifted as well due to the radical change of our surroundings which make our lives uncomfortable. More specifically, people of our past generation defined happiness as a life with healthy foods, strong bonding among family members and following the religious rituals perfectly. However, our generation defined happiness as to have higher social status, political influences and muscle powers. We now like to rule over others not to stay together. It is because the mindset we reformed over the years due to the change of our atmosphere. Since our definition of happiness has been changed, the scope of finding it also becomes changed and difficult. That's another reason why we are not happy whereas our parents and grandparents can lead a happy life.

In brief, it is certainly true that we are not happy like our past generation due to the radical changes of our world.