Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Rapid growth of digitization and advancement in information technology fosters the enhanced use of e-mail as a form of formal and informal conversation in present decade. People believe that it makes the communication much convenient as such students or colleagues can perform a project or assignment without having a face to face interaction. Although many believe that it is much more convenient than the face to face communication, other people cast serious doubt about its' efficacy as a learning device. I also believe the same and agree that communication in person can result in far better outcome than communication via e-mail. I will provide three specific reasons to support my claim.

First, in-depth learning can only be possible whenever you perform the task in person. It is due to the reason that active learning and cross-communication among different members can be ensured when the group members are gathered in a place and share their views. For example, I often try to understand the concepts of my group mates in a face to face conversation session and make my own statements accordingly. Physical presence enables me to think deeper and analyze closely about a fact or position. However, when I tried to do the same via e-mail, I often could not understand the inner meaning of a concept, I have to make a personal schedule to conceive the inherent significance. As we are exposed to a wide variety of opinions in a consolidated discussion, learning becomes more last longing and thorough.

Secondly, in person communication process involve both viewing and hearing which is far more durable than viewing only via e-mail. There are many scientific evidences behind this claim as well. For example, a recent study showed that whenever people are exposed to viewing and hearing a presentation at the same time, the hearing has longer and benign effect on him compared to viewing only. For instance, I often forget what I have seen in the slides during my class time as I hardly concentrate on them for a long time. However, I can hear with full concentration about what my teachers are discussing and help me to resemble the actual scenario. Therefore, I become more active whenever there is a live interaction among my partners regarding any assignment or project and the final outcome becomes much fruitful. In contrast, e-mail learning doesn't prolong for a single day in my mind and often I struggle to memorize the concept.

Thirdly, face to face interaction enhances the productivity of the individual which enables them to do the task in a shorter time and focus on other tasks as well. People when are gathered together make a stringent plan to accomplish the task within a short time and then focus on another pending task. For example, I like to make group tasks whenever I am assigned to more than one task as such I can complete all the tasks from a single discussion session. On the other hand, e-mail tasking reduces my productivity as I always believe that my friends will always be available to do the task online. Consequently, the final output can never be accomplished in time.

To conclude, I strongly prefer in person communication instead of e-mail learning as it is more effective, last longing and productive.