The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People work hard to shine in life. Many people destroy their happiness to discover the unknown, to know more and more, or to achieve more. They are never satisfied with what they attained. However, there is another group of people who like to restrain themselves from a self-devoted industrious persons after they gain their desired wealth and affluence. The prompt states that people from the second category actually fail to establish themselves as austere and self-dependent individuals. I moderately disagree with the statement from the prompt because of two specific reasons.

First of all, it is inarguably true that, people get motivated to take risks to accomplish his desired life when they have sense need of that particular objective. Conversely, when someone finds all his requirements fulfilled, he gradually keeps himself away from all sorts of troubles. Eventually, it inhibits the growth of his intellectual ability and makes him reluctance to accept challenges. Consider the example of Robert Bruce, who conquered his regime after attempting nine times. Bruce was deprived of his comfortable life during that time, stayed in the cave and dreamt to vanquish his enemies from his territory. In each attempt, he tried to identify his faults, rectified them and gained confidence to defeat them. Therefore, the lack of the luxuries and comfortability enabled Bruce to come back strongly. People whey they hound for a luxury life, they become self-inspired and risk takers, which make themselves prepared to fight against the odds.

However, it would be overly generalized to conclude that when a person gets all his needs, he loses his ambition. In fact, it is examined and evident from Maslow's need theory of hierarchy that when people reach the highest level of needs, the esteemed need, he eventually dreams for a bigger position or place. In fact, all those luxuries and comforts make himself feel that he is overpaid and he has to cherish for bigger accomplishments. For instance, Bill Gates is one of the richest persons in the whole world. According to the epitome of the prompt, Bill Gates should surrender his deep-routed spirit long back when he became the top 10 rich persons in his nation. However, it is now known to us, Bill Gates got involved in more charity and fund-raising activities for the poor people. Surely, Bill Gates did not keep himself stopped and self-satisfied after obtaining a luxurious life, rather he became more passionate to utilize his wealth to improve the world. Therefore, when people get a desirable life he hankers after throughout his life, it does not always mean that he will not work for his goals any more, rather, he may get more engaged in his role.

To summarize, lack of comfort and luxury undoubtedly make people ambitionless. On the other hand, when people are overwhelmed with luxuries and conveniences, he may work harder to achieve more.