All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

A course on history helps the apprentices to know profoundly about the culture, race, inheritance of our past. Therefore, the importance of having knowledge about the history is unquestionable. However, mandating the course for every prospective graduate will be an inappropriate decision and I strongly oppose the idea. I will demonstrate my position with three specific reasons throughout the article.

First of all, history course is not helpful in any way for every university graduate. More specifically, students who are majoring in different subject areas such as engineering or business background will not be benefitted at all from the outcomes of history class. Students from engineering background, for instance, need to do a lot of hands on experiments, projects and then analyze the findings. These require a lot of efforts as well as passions and it will be demotivating for them if they are forced to spend their precious time in comprehending historical knowledge. I can illustate it with my own experience. I was a major in programming and I have to take one compulsory history course about my country. Despite the contents were offered with positive intentions, me and my classmates were utterly perturbed about the course. We had to study hard about it and we missed many programming contests. Even one of my friends lost the opportunity to give an interview for a job at Google. Therefore, enforcing the university students to learn about history as mandatory is not effective and benevolent.

Secondly, history course requires money. In order to gain some real life experiences, the curriculum of the history courses is arranged in a holistic way that requires both theoretical and practical knowledge of the students. As a consequence, students are forced to visit many historical places and museums which is not cheap. Sometimes students are sent abroad for a period within the semester to make a report about the culture. Although in most of cases, the university pay for it, students also have to bear the additional costs for their accomodations. It often costs an arm and a leg for many parents to manage the funds. For example, I was obligated to make a trip to India along with my mates to make a short note on Tajmohol. My parents couldn't manage the funds and I had to lend money from my best friend which still made me ashamed. Therefore, making the course compulsory will add financial burdens to many families like me.

Last but not the least, students hardly learn something new from the course. Most of the university students had to take history subject in their grad school or college level. Students are admitted to university to learn something new. However, history course doesn't contain significant new information. Rather, it just refreshes the students about the past lessons. For example, in my history course offered in the university, I had been taught about the history of emergence of Bangladesh. I had already the relevant knowledge from the very early of my school days. So repeated exposures to the contents made the course dull and boring to me.

To summarize, despite the importance, it would be impractical decision to make hisotry course compulsory to every university student and I will never vie with the idea.