Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The government of a nation has to perform multi-dimensional tasks for the country people. It has to deal with the existing challenges and prepare itself for the future battle. Here comes the priority issue: should the government focus on the immediate problems or solve the forecasted problems of the future? The prompt argues that government should prioritize day to day life problems than working for the unforeseeable future. I strongly disagree with the opinion and I would like to illustrate my positions with two specific examples.

First of all, the role of a government is completely different from the responsibilities of an individual. The government has to design solutions for the betterment of all citizens, not a specific group of people. The problems that seem intractable today might be a temporary issue and it may have lower impacts to the nation as a whole. On the other hand, it might have to deal with some severe issues that will be more daunting to face if they are not resolved now. For example, consider the COVID- 19 issue in Bangladesh: a developing country. The first wave was a hard time for this impoverished nation. Still the government called for country wise lockdown and forced people not to work outside. Many people started protection against the abrupt decision of the government claiming that they would not be the victim of COVID but the victim of starvation. The government was still stringent and released the lockdown effect once the people got vaccinated. Consequently, the death rate of the country by COVID is significantly low compared to the huge population it occupied. If the government focused on those temporary issues of workers unemployment and released the lockdown, the whole scenario may be debacle. From this discussion, we can assert that anticipating the weight of the future problems and working for it should be of greater importance to a government than to solve immediate problems.

Moreover, the government always works for the sovereignty of the nation: to prosper and flourish the growth of the nation. If the rulers only try to solve day to day life requirements, it can not change its' fate. Consider the example of Bangladesh government again. Bangladesh, after the independence in 1971 had an agriculture based economy. After the liberation, it had to face different issues regarding farming and crop productions. However, the government immediately could realize that if it could turn its' agriculture based economy to industrial revolution, the economic stagnation will be extirpated. Gradually it started to establish industries and more people started engaging in industry works leaving agricultural field works. After three decades, Bangladesh has become the 3rd highest RMG (Ready-made garments) exporting nations of the world and earned a huge revenue from the RMG exports. If the government during 1970s failed to anticipate the success of industrial revolution and focused to solve perpetual problems during that time, probably it would still lag behind the underdeveloped nations. From this demonstration, it can be inferred that government officials should have extra vision and work for it instead of dealing with anomalous regular problems.

To conclude, there is no doubt that government has the responsibility to improve the fortune of the nation. And if it is assessed in terms of working for the current problems or for the future prospects, I will certainly vote for the second one.