The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the memo by the director of student housing at Buckingham College, the college authority should construct new housing residences. The claim is based on the growing enrollment of college students, higher apartment rent and a point of attraction for the future students to admit at Buckingham. However, before accepting the claim, three specific evidences need to be assessed to justify the validation of establishing new dormitories.

First of all, specific evidence regarding the current capacity of the existing dormitories is required. It may be possible that the dormitories are established recently to accommodate the future prospective students keeping in mind the rising enrollment at the Buckingham college. Therefore, without sufficient information about the housing capacity, it seems logically unsound to consider the existing space insufficient.

Secondly, supporting evidence on the average fare for the student apartment in the nearby area is needed to justify the claim. It may be possible that the rent is higher for large apartments which are basically chosen by the high-income people. On the contrary, due to the growing demand of the student housing, the mean rent of the student housing is relatively lower. Without the exact information about the rents of the student houses, it can't be censused that students have to rely on dormitories due to the high rent of the nearby off-campus apartments.

Finally, a survey from the existing students about the placement of new dormitories is required to assess the generalization of the aforementioned claim. It may be possible that students might not like the construction works of the new dormitories during their class and exam time. In the worst-case scenario, many of them might decide to leave the campus because of the unwanted pollutions caused by the construction works. The lack of student survey regarding the construction work seriously undermines the claim of the director of student housing.

Because of the lack of above-mentioned evidences, the argument of the passage is reasonably flawed and if one or more of the previously mentioned points become true, the argument as a whole will collapse. Therefore, the director of student housing needs to recheck the points and confirm accordingly to consider his viewpoint.