It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends

Some people argue that making new friendship is more vital than maintaining old friendship. However, I strongly disagree with their arguments and believe that keeping old buddies has far more impact and so is more necessary than making new friends easily. I will demonstrate my position with specific three reasons in this writing.

First, better understanding and compromising nature is built up gradually when one maintains a last longing friendship with his friends. For example, I have a childhood friend with whom I can share any of my happiness and sorrows that even I can't share with my family members. It is only possible due to the bonding that has been established throughout the years. On the contrary, I often hesitate to share something private information with my new friends due to lack of adequate information about them. It is very difficult to trust a friend without knowing his every hook and corner which demands a lot of time. True friendship relies on understanding and sharing; if anybody fears to share his opinions to his friends, than it should not be termed as friendship, which often happens for trusting every person easily and making friendship with them.

Second, old friends sometimes play parental role when it is necessary. For instance, when I was a secondary student, I got habituated to drinking as well as smoking and it was completely unknown to my parents. In fact, the prime reason was to make some new friends who were used to those habits. Fortunately, my childhood friend could recognize my changes and tried his best to trace me to the right path. He never gave up and eventually became successful to avoid those. Honestly, old friends can read the face as well as minds and can predict what's going on inhis friend.

Third, latent skills and potentials are often exposed due to the presence and motivation from the old friends. For example, from my childhood, my best friend always praised my voice and suggested me to perform as a debater. However, I was not serious until I got a golden opportunity to debate at an international debate competition. For the continuous support and guidance from my friend, I got the second prize in that competition. However, my new friends continuously mocked me for my participation and suggested me to quit throughout the journey. It is the old friends who know well about his friend's latent skill and talent, not the newer friends.

To summarize, there is a conflict of ideas among the people about the importance of old friends compared to the new friends. In my opinion, I strongly recommend to maintain old friendships rather than making new friendships frequently.