The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette states that the council of Balmer Island should qualify the number of mopeds from 50 to 25 per day during the summer time to decrease the number of accidents. It is based on the premise that by making a comparative analysis with the Seaville island. However, the argument contains many unwarranted assumptions that raise some questions to accept the claim of the letter.

First of all, is moped really responsible for the occurrence of frequent number of accidents? It has been stated in the argument that the number needs to be reduced during the summer only which indicates that perhaps during the summer, there is heavy rainfalls in that region which make the roads unsuitable to walk or move. In that case, it will only add burdens to the local community to limit the number of mopeds in that area. The lack of sufficient information regarding the relation between the number of accidents and the number of mopeds seriously undermines the claim of the letter.

Secondly, are the accidents by the mopeds of the Seaville island and Balmer island comparable? It may be possible that the road pattern and the regional characteristics of the Seaville island are completely different from Balmer island. Probably, the Seaville island is located near the ocean and people have to use boats, or other means of water transportation medium for the ease of their business and other purposes. Since there is less need to use mopeds as the mode of transportation, there were very few accidents in the Seaville islands and gradually becomes half after reducing their number in the last year. However, similar analysis has been stated for the Balmer island in the argument which weakens the argument as a whole.

Finally, even if the mopeds are responsible for higher accident rates in the Balmer island, will the limitation bring lowered number of accidents? It might be possible that with the increase of population, there are not sufficient number of mopeds in the area. As a consequence, the mopeds are always overcrowded with the riders and it becomes arduous for the moped drivers to drive relentlessly and carefully all the time. If this becomes true, the argument as a whole will fall apart and instead of decreasing the number of mopeds, it has to be increased. Therefore, the writer of the letter is supposed to present some evidence regarding the fact that the current number of mopeds is large enough to cause frequent accidents or his conclusion can't be accepted.

To summarize, the author of the letter needs to answer the above mentioned questions to acknowledge his claim as true and agree with the fact that the reduction of the number of mopeds will result in fewer number of accidents. Otherwise, it would be considered a flawed argument.