The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The memo appeared to the board of directors of a heating oil company concludes that their company can anticipate a rise in the sales of heating oil in the upcoming days. It is based upon the elongated duration of the winter season in northeastern United States for present and unforeseeable future. However, before the prediction can be properly assessed, there questions must be answered.

First of all, is the sales of the heating oil increased in last year? It is possible that people of northeastern US are no longer using heating oil to warm their houses. Perhaps, they preferred heating oil as temporary solution for short span of winter but now they are switching to a more automated or comfortable solution. It may be possible that during the last one year, the sales of heating oil actually decreased and people are no longer interested to use heating oil for the upcoming years. If any of this situation comes to light, the argument does not hold water.

Secondly, are the infrastructures of new homes and traditional buildings comparable? It may be possible that the old structured homes don't have the facility to use modern heating system to warm their houses and that's why they are bound to use heating oil. But the recently developed homes have all the necessary provisions and they don't need to use heating oil anymore to warm their houses. In addition, it is also possible that establishment of new homes does not mean the population growth, it may indicate that people from the old buildings are planning to switch to newer houses to avoid the hassles of using heating oil. If any of the aforementioned points has merit, the conclusion of the argument will be seriously undermined.

Last but not the least, is the demand of the heating oil for next five years accurately forecasted? It maybe possible that people don't like to go outside to buy heating oil during winter frequently and they purchase a bulk amount of oils in the very first year after the announcement from the climate forecasters. It is also a possibility that after the announcement, many people will eventually left northeastern area in the winter and stay in Texas or other warm area. If any of the above circumstances becomes true, the anticipation of the writer will be weakened.

To summarize, the argument as it stands now, is seriously flawed because of its' reliance on many unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to response to the questions mentioned in the above writing and provide evidences (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), the prediction of the author may be properly evaluate