The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the memorandum by the president of Humana University, the university authority should launch and promote online education programs to enrich the number of entry students and fix the expenditure issues. The conclusion is based on the comparison to the Omni University which has achieved higher enrollment and reduced expenses after initiating online courses. Although the conclusion sounds logical at a first glance, before accepting it true, three specific assumptions need to evaluated and warranted to make his claim true.

First of all, it might not be a reasonable assumption to conclude that following the trends of Omni University will result in increasing enrollment for Humana university. It may be possible that the courses offered by the Omni university are theoretical, not lab based. Therefore, they find it possible to start online degree programs. However, the Humana University may have the popularity for its' lab infrastructure and up-to-date lab equipment. Therefore, the initialization of online degree offerings might defame their reputations and students may not be keen like before to admit in Humana University. If any of the above consequences becomes true, the argument as a whole will not hold water.

Secondly, it is assumed that online teaching is the possible reason behind the sharp decrease of expenditures for Omni University. However, it may be possible that the rental fees of the nearby apartments of the Omni university is cheap and that's why students don't feel the necessity to stay in the dormitory. In accordance, while there is less classroom expenses, the authority needs to pay a significant amount to individual student to avail the internet packs and required devices, which cumulatively surplus the total classroom costs. If any of the above points is true, the claim of the author will be seriously weakened.

Finally, it has been assumed that online education will solve the budget deficits for the Humana University by restricting the building maintenance costs. However, it is reasonable to predict that Humana university has not launched online program yet and its' faculty members as well as students need sufficient training and online resources to make the plan doable. It may result an additional cost to the university to arrange the training programs. Moreover, they may need to buy online subscriptions like zoom, google meet or Microsoft team for conducting the online classes. They may need to pay the "ProctorU" to monitor flawlessly during the exam. All these actions may result a manifold price increase for the Humana University which the argument fails to consider.

To summarize, the plan of the president of Humana university is justified enough to increase enrollment and reduce costs. However, the assumptions which it is based on are logically flawed and we can't vie with them without further evidence.