Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Leader plays the most significant role in a team. Especially, in case of leading a nation, political leaders are the ultimate game changers. According to the prompt, there is an ongoing debate concerning the fact that whether the political leaders should obey the will of the people or strict to the established principles. In my opinion, political leaders should shape their styles based on the contingency-- according to the need of the situation. I believe that political leaders should welcome both of the positions according to the need of the nation. I will illustrate my opinion with three specific examples.

First of all, every nation has some well-defined principles that have must be maintained to retain the existence of the nation. These principles are made for the general mass although people don't like them always. For example, people in Bangladesh have to bear an additional taxes every year who own personal cars. Many people find it burdensome and complain to the ministry of trade to compensate the tax. However, the prime minister of Bangladesh repudiated the claim and urged to pay the taxes in due time. It is worthy to mention that the revenue generated from the annual car tax is used to make the metro rail in Bangladesh, which is an expensive project. If the leader showed leniency here, the project will take longer. Consequently, it will suffer the people terribly. From the above example, it is apparent that political leaders need to strict to the principles rather than the will of the people for the benefit of the country.

Secondly, an effective leader needs to have some particular traits that the common people don't have. According to the trait theory of leadership, a leader needs to have seven basic traits including intelligence, honesty, desire, knowledge, extraversion and so on. Therefore, a leader can anticipate the impact of a decision which his/her followers can't predict. For example, many people in Bangladesh showed reluctance to take COVID-19 vaccine when it first arrived to Bangladesh. Although the government tried to ameliorate their fears and made the vaccination free, people did not come forward. However, after the second wave of COVID- 19 people can realize the impact and now willing to take the vaccine. If the government doesn't strict to its' principles to vaccinate its' people, the death rate in Bangladesh will be worsened. From this illustration, it is discerning that a leader who is committed this motives can lead the nation positively.

Nonetheless, an effective leader must hear his followers' needs. Else, it will raise chaos and turbulence in the nation. For example, people in Bangladesh during 2015-2016 felt the importance of 4G in Bangladesh. Many freelancers requested the P.M. to launch 4G service in Bangladesh for effective e-commerce. After investigation and analysis, the government of Bangladesh finally launched the 4G service and now focusing to initiate 5G network in Bangladesh. Clearly, Bangladesh Government paves the way of smooth online business by enabling these services. From this case example, it is evident that the political leaders should validate the claims if the public and should act upon the investigation outcome.

To conclude, an effective leader is an asset to the nation. He should care for the laws, regulations and principles to run the nation. At the same time, he needs to prioritize the opinion of the lay people to sustain the development of the nation.