Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

— Interrupt and correct the mistake right away.

— Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader.

— Say nothing.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As a human being, it is quite natural to make mistakes while speaking deliberately or unwillingly. However, it is also the responsibility of the nearby audiences to draw his attention and help him to rectify the mistake. So, there can be some ways to help him to overcome his mistake. One may pause him just after the mistake or one may can wait until his delivery is completed. There are another group of people who actually don't care about others and they like to maintain silence even they find the mistake. Although it is a personal choice, however, I feel that mistake during a meeting or in the class by the respected member should be corrected after the event is terminated. That means, I am going with the second option and I will provide three specific reasons behind my position.

To begin with, meeting leader or the class teacher is a respected and highly honored person. They are in those positions because of their knowledge, skills and experience. So, their mistakes should be rectified in the most sincere way. It often creates a good impression about that person. For instance, whenever I was a student of BUET, I found a crucial mistake by a mathematics professor in the class. However, I didn't make any complain that time. I just waited for the termination of the class and then personally met the teacher and drew his attention on that topic. The teacher was amazed with my sincerity and attention and highly praised me. He further expressed his disappointment that no other students complained about it. In addition, he supported my patience and advised me to maintain decorum and ethics in the class in front of everyone. From that experience, I have learnt that your team leader or teacher would feel comfortable if you sincerely drew their attention to amend a mistake personally, not in front of others.

Secondly, personal discussion can result in effective outputs in the future than other two options. It is because the team leader or a teacher will be well alerted about his mistake if it is politely and personally addressed. If it is exposed in front of everyone, it is possible that the leader or teacher would be aggressive and tried to hide their mistakes by explaining something inappropriate or wrong. As a consequence, the students would not realize that there were some mistakes in the conveyed information and they would learn it. Same goes when all remained silent about the mistake. In contrast, whenever a teacher or a leader is privately acknowledged about his mistake, he felt guilty and in very next day he referred his mistakes and provides further explanations and knowledge on that topic. So it would be an effective lesson for both sides. For instance, my professor from the example above confessed the mistake in the next class and provided vast explanations on that topic which were very helpful. So a personal meeting can result in a possible outcome from a mistake.

Finally, any immediate interruption or silence may bring negative consequences to individual or collectively. People who aggressively tried to correct the mistake, may be the target of a particular leader or teacher. As a consequence, it might affect his promotion or grade. For instance, one of my colleague showed audacity to the CEO of our organization and he was retained in the same position for last three years. Also, sometimes the teacher or leader willingly makes mistake to judge the attention level of his followers. So, if nobody responses, they will consider it as an inattentive attitude, and they might be under severe punishment. So, remained silent is not always the good indicator like as being audacious in every case.

To summarize, personally I find the second option more suitable than the remaining as it is a sincere, effective and best techniques in all cases.