Animal fossils usually provide very little opportunity to study the actual animal tissues, because in fossils the animals' living tissues have been largely replaced by minerals. Thus, scientists were very excited recently when it appeared that a 70-million-year-old fossil of Tyrannosaurus rex (T. rex), a dinosaur, might still contain remains of the actual tissues of the animal. The discovery was made when researchers deliberately broke open the T. rex's leg bone, thereby exposing its insides to reveal materials that seem to be remains of blood vessels, red blood cells, and collagen matrix.

First, the breaking of the fossilized leg bone revealed many small branching channels inside, which probably corresponded to hollows in the bones where blood vessels were once located. The exciting finding was the presence of a soft, flexible organic substance inside the channels. This soft substance may very well represent the remains of the actual blood vessels of T. rex.

Second, microscopic examination of the various parts of the inner bone revealed the presence of spheres that could be the remains of red blood cells. Tests showed that the spheres contained iron - a material vital to the role of red blood cells in transporting oxygen to tissues. Moreover, the spheres had dark red centers (substances with iron tend to be reddish in color) and were also about the size of red blood cells.

Third, scientists performed a test on the dinosaur leg bone that showed that it contained collagen. Collagen is a fibrous protein that is a main component of living bone tissue, in which it forms a so-called collagen matrix. Collagen (or its chemical derivatives) is exactly the kind of biochemical material that one would expect to find in association with bone tissue.

Both the article and the speech discuss about the recent invention of an old fossil of T.rex. The writer of the article believes that there still some existence of actual tissues in the 70 million-year-old fossil due to three specific evidences which are further demonstrated in the passage. However, the speaker takes a skeptical position to these evidences throughout his speech.

First, the article states that the presence of the soft organic substance into the hollows indicate the relics of actual blood vessels of T. rex. However, the narrator refutes the claim and believes that the empty hollows were created for not the presence of blood vessels but for something else like due to the bacteria. Those bacteria traced for foods and left their residuals which the scientists considered as the evidence of blood vessels.

Second, the writer tries to establish his viewpoint with the claim of revealing the existence of red blood cells sized like a sphere which contained iron and dark red centers. He cited that these two evidences indicated the presence of red blood cells. However, the speaker denied the claim and provided evidence of many other pristine animals which didn't contain iron in their red blood cells which indicated that presence of iron didn't indicate the proof. In addition, the speech deliverer also termed the dark red centers as the reddish minerals which clearly weakens the claim of the writer.

Lastly, the author provided the example of the collagen protein to support his position. However, the speaker also refuted the claim and argued that collagen is impossible to find in a species of 70 million old age. Instead he claimed that the identified collagen might come from human who were once tried to examine those fossils within last 1000 years.

To conclude, although the author of the passage tried to establish his position with three specific reasons, the speaker refuted all of those with counter evidence and asked for further clarification to support the point of the author.