In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

College students are required to take a variety of courses apart from their intended majors. Some colleges offer the students to enroll in the music, literature such as poems and novels, and other types of imaginative literature courses. The prompt quickly supports this idea and claims that all colleges should force their students to undertake these courses. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the statement of the prompt and I am going to illustrate my opinion with three specific reasons.

First of all, not all the colleges can afford to accommodate these literature courses. Enforcing all students to enroll in poetry or mythology courses actually force all the institutions to arrange necessary facilities which may not be economically viable for all institutions. For example, there are many colleges which are struggling with financial crisis and it will create more pressure on their shoulder to include these courses in their curriculum. They need to hire specialized faculty members, need to purchase books and keep them in the library and so on. If they plan to increase the semester fees, many students will no longer be interested to study in that college. Therefore, it will not be a practical decision to necessitate all the college students to participate in various imaginative literature courses.

Secondly, students may not be interested to learn about poems, myths or literature in their college life. More specifically, when the college students discover that they are bound to enroll in some courses, they will eventually loose their interests to learn something from those sessions. Unlike the school or kindergarten students, college students are grown-ups and they like to take the courses that attract them. For instance, I was passionate about science and scientific discovery from the very early of my childhood. So, whenever my college forced me to take musical instrument session, I hardly attended those sessions and eventually I did not learn anything from that course. On the contrary, during my university life, I became a member of the university music club to learn more about music during my free time. Therefore, forcing a student to attend the classes which he does not prefer, will not be fruitful at all and so it should not be encouraged.

Last but not the least, it may sound harsh but it is a fact that the knowledge of imaginative literature hardly helps someone to contribute to the welfare of the country or to make someone competent in the job market. In the real life scenario, students need to be technically sound and they need to showcase their proficiency in the demanding courses such as engineering or accounting, medical or any relevant courses. Therefore, forcing the students to learn these imaginative literature courses actually enables the wastage of their times and thus makes them less capable. When the country needs the erudition of a technical expert to solve a critical problem, what will be the use of a poem writer at that moment?

To conclude, forcing the college students to enroll in the imaginative literature courses will not be a great idea and thus I am strongly against the idea.