Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Undoubtedly laws are made for people, to shape their behavior and the way of interactions between each other. People believe that laws should be strict; it should not show leniency to anybody irrespective to his name, fame or hierarchy. However, they acknowledge the fact that all criminals should not be treated equally without considering their situations or the causes of such occurrences. The prompt asserts that the laws should be pliable and it should be considerate about time, place or incidents. I strongly agree with the prompt and argue for three specific reasons.

First of all, laws are made to keep the people away from crimes, no to punish them blatantly. If the laws are stringent, all criminals will be treated under same criminal act; especially who are the victims of a transitory situation. For example, a man who is suddenly attacked by a group of robber may try to protect himself by hurting the robbers. But if the judge follows the well established laws of hurting other people or murder, the person will get a severe punishment, perhaps a death penalty. In contrast, a cold headed murderer also gets the same punishment for killing innocent people. When laws are hard and fast, people who are victimized to crime because of a sudden mishap, can't hope for clemency. Therefore, the penal codes should not be rigid, it should maintain a degree of flexibility.

Furthermore, flexible laws make people more respectful to the judicial department. Whenever a man or a woman did a crime accidentally, he or she would like to surrender and expect for fair judgement. On the other hand, if the general mass find the laws too strict, they will hardly cede and report their crime to the courts. Consequently, there will be more unreported crimes and riots will take place in the country. For example, during the African Black rights movement, many white people supported their possessions and fought for the same. The government started punishing the black and white for their acts. Eventually, more white people started participating in the movement to give the rights to the black as well as to make the arrested people free. Therefore, it can be safely stated that flexibility in laws can bring peace and trust among the laypeople.

To conclude, many people believe that flexible laws can account for more crimes. However, when the laws are kept flexible only considering the overall situation of the crime, it rules out that possibility. Hence, I strongly vie with the opinion that a country should keep its' laws flexible considering different circumstances.