Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Learning outcomes of a student are mainly assessed in many different techniques. Teachers like to evaluate the performance of a student not only by the individual absorbing ability but also by studying in a group or team. There is an ongoing debate regarding the effectiveness of learning in a group. Many people argue that assigning tasks such as projects or assignments to a group of students are more benign than delegating the task to complete by all alone. However, I strongly disagree with them because I think group study makes some students reluctant, incapable and incompetent to survive in the future.

First of all, assigning a group projects make some students lazy and inactive about that topic. They feel that some other students will do the required task so they don't need to involve. I can explain this phenomenon with a real example from my own life. I was once appointed in a group work containing five members. We were asked to collect a sample of 50 insects for a laboratory experiment. I was very pleased since it was my first group project and task was interesting to me. To my utter surprise, I eventually discovered that, three of my friends didn't like to involve in collecting the samples. They delegated the responsibilities to us and offered us a buffet dinner for our efforts. I was very much frustrated that we got the same grade and acknowledgment although the level of contribution was completely different. This incident clearly underscores that, group study can make a false impression about the grade of a student which make the students reluctant to contribute in the task. At the end, many students actually don't learn anything from the project.

Secondly, group projects make some students incapable. More specifically, whenever a task is assigned to a group, the weaker students try to accomplish the easy portion. As a consequence, they don't have any idea about the complex analogy or investigation of the project which is a prime objective to provide an assignment or project. This scenario is visible for undergraduate thesis or project works. Whenever the undergraduate dissertation is distributed among a group of two or more students, it is found that the weaker students like to avoid the methodology or complex calculation parts. In fact, many of them don't have any knowledge about the topic. It is undeniable that undergrad thesis has a groundbreaking importance in a student's life. Unfortunately, group project destroys that scope of learning.

Last but not the least, group projects make many students incompetent. Students who like to do tasks in groups have less self confidence and decision making ability. This lacking have a strong negative impact in their future career. The company who hire them as employees often complain regarding their potential. One of my colleague always asks me for a suggestion in each of his assigned responsibilities. He confessed that he was too much dependent on his group members about making a decision which is troubling him in his career. He always tries to escape from individual training and learning program. Therefore, group study inhibits his conceptual as well as thinking ability and eventually makes him incompetent.

In brief, to me, group projects are not effective as they are believed.