Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Teachers play the second most crucial role to educate the students, right after the parents. Especially, college and university faculty members are recruited to disseminate the knowledge of the textbooks relevant to the curriculum. Many people have different opinions about the effective method of teaching in college or university. The prompt claim that the faculties should have industrial/outside exposures to teach the students and it should be mandated by the college and university authority. I also agree with the statement and I would like to illustrate my opinion with two specific reasons.

First of all, text books are not updated in a regular basis. However, our era is highly erratic and it changes from time to time. Therefore, if the college or university teachers rely only on textbook contents, students may not understand the current trend, practice completely. For example, many countries are now implementing the concept of industrial revolution 5 (IR 5.0) in their industries. It is an emerging technique which is not still well established in the text book literature. A growing number of industries are looking for potent employees who can help them to flourish the growth of IR 5.0. In this context, if any faculty member specialized in the relevant courses of industrial revolution, collaborates with the industry to have knowledge on IR 5.0 and then arrange internship programs for the students in that industry, it will make them capable to be familiar with this innovation. In contrast, teachers who only rely on the textbooks can not educate their students with the contemporary requirements. From the above illustration, it is evident that if the college and universities exhort the teachers to have the pertinent knowledge outside the academic field, it will facilitate the learning process of the students.

Furthermore, college and university educations make the students fit in the job market. In today's volatile job market, only the fittest can survive and grab the desired job. The industries are now not only focusing to academic CV but also prioritizing the extra-curricular performances. If a college or university instructor only tries to improve the grade of the students, they may not be able to perform well in the job market. Industrial knowledge and exposures are also beneficial for them. For instance, many students from IIT Bombay can't get the desired job albeit having brilliant academic records. A recent survey reveals that IIT Bombay students have fewer exposures to industrial challenges and they also have a lack in communication skills. Based on the findings from the survey, the course instructors of IIT Bombay are now launching capstone projects for the students to have real exposures to the industry and industry experts. From the above discussion, it is apparent that faculties who only try to spread text book information among the students, can not make them competent to the job market. Therefore, the college and university authority should goad the faculties to spend time in outside professions as well.

To summarize, many people think that college and university faculties should spread only text book knowledge. However, I strongly disagree with them and like the prompt, I like to affirm that faculties should have outside exposures as well.