The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

According to the memorandum from the manager of the Happy Pancake House restaurants, they have swapped butter with margarine in their food meals without any significant impact. It accounts that the lack of distinguishing power of the customers or their disinterested choice between butter and margarine may be responsible for the successful substitution. Although at first glance, the argument seems plausible, it can be seriously undermined with three alternative explanations that the author failed to demonstrate and thus made the recommendation unwarranted.

First of all, it is not mentioned whether 98 percent people clearly state that they are happy with the change. It may be possible that only 20 people out of 1000 customers recently complained about the issue and total number of complaints is also equal to twenty. Other customers may be shocked with the abrupt change and decided to not to come to this restaurant in the future without charging a complain. If any of the above circumstances becomes true, the claim of the manager will not hold water anymore.

Secondly, it is assumed that the change has little impact to their customers. The impacts should be measured from different perspectives. For example, it may be possible that after changing the ingredient, there was a sharp decline in the total number of customers in Pancake restaurants. It may be possible that people who prefer margarine over butter or don't bother about it are the only customers now. Besides, there is no mention regarding the price too. If the Pancake House restaurants offer a low price for their changing meals to hold the potential customers, it may result in a temporary boost. Perhaps after adjusting to the regular price, people will no longer be satisfied with the change. If any of these mentioned concerns is true, the assertion of the writer gets weakened and can't be accepted.

Last but not the least, output from the servers can indicate a forged outcome. It may be possible that customers instantly complain to the busboys, waiters, and local managers instead of complaining in the web server or app. Perhaps, the managers ignore the complains to gain a high profit from the top management. Without providing sufficient details about the number of complains or the procedures to complain, the author keeps us in ambiguity and we can't agree with him without clearing our confusions.

To summarize, Happy Pancake House restaurants certainly make a fair attempt to get responses concerning the replacement of the constituent of the Pancake. However, the one sided response from the manager can't account the real findings after the change. If he provides suitable justifications to the alternative explanations as mentioned in this writing, we may vie with his claim. Since he does not give adequate information about these three mentioned points, we can not support his viewpoint.