Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

What is the common consensus among parents on their children's need? Education. Having a proper education has been deemed as the fundamental building block of a successful life in society. It comes as no surprise that is a clamor for the government to increase education funding to the point of providing free education. I strongly agree with the solution of offering free college and university education to all students for two reasons.

Firstly, free education will bring about a more meritocratic society untrammelled by an individual's wealth. Price of education can be substantial deterrence for students to pursue further education as their families may not have the capability to afford it. Further, school fees could place an onerous burden on some students whereby they have to take on part-time jobs or huge debt to pay their school fees. For example, in the United States, fewer students are pursuing further students due to increasingly onerous school fees. Many potentially brilliant students could thus be unfairly left out from having a proper education and compete on even grounds in the job market with other college or university-educated students. Therefore, by instituting free college and university education, the government will be providing equal opportunities to all students regardless of their family economical situation and not leave behind the unfortunate among us.

Secondly, education is strongly correlated with wealth and higher living standards without overdependency on the government. With free education, the educational level of the average citizen will be signficantly elevated and in turn their income. In ensuring that the citizens are well-educated, they are better positioned to compete in the increasingly globalized job market and be able to thrive without additional government support like unemployment benefits. For example, countries like Germany has a free education policy and is one of the model country whereby its well-educated workforce translated to one of the highest gross domestic product per capita in the world. It also boasts one of the lowest unemployment rates in the world. As such, given free education can elevate income level and living standards without relying on the government, it is a policy worth pursuing.

However, some opponents argue that when something is being offered for free, it will often be taken for granted. It may be true in certain cases, as with any system, it is not perfect. There will inevitably be outliers abusing the system and enjoying the free education system without an end-goal to improve their current well-being through education. Nonetheless, given the majority who will greatly benefit from a free education policy versus the minority outliers who abuse the system, the free education policy remains a sound one from a utilitarian perspective.

In conclusion, there is a reason why parents everywhere demand a good education for their children. Education uplifts lives. Free education is critical in ensuring a meritocratic society and for citizens to elevate their living standards and reduce dependency on the government.