Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

An expert is someone deemed to the top in his field and as such they have the requisite knowledge and experience to provide insightful and critical judgement. Further, a novice in the field with no experience will not be able to provide any critical insights, so their judgement will have miniscule value. As such, it is common to think that only experts will provide valuable critical judgement about their relevant fields. However, I vehemently disagree with this line of thinking and support the argument that experts are not the only ones who can provide valuable judgement. My dissent is supported by two key reasons.

Firstly, a novice from another field can bring a unique perspective to the field. There is critical value in bringing insights from a different field, that might at first glance seem irrelvant. For example, Steve Jobs who was not an expert programmer brought some of the most fundamental changes to the field of word processing. Because of his outsider perspective and wide range of knowledge of different fields including calligraphy, he was able to identify the deficiencies in word processing software back in the days; cluncky and ugly. This led to the subsequent introduction of fonts into the technical word processing space. The gorgeous fonts you see today are the result of an outsider's judgement of an expert's work. As such, there is value of an outsider whereby they can bring in relevant insights from a different field.

Secondly, experts tend to have boxed-in thinking and an outsider can help jolt the creative juices of the experts. For example, Steve Jobs was infamous of dropping an early iPhone prototype into water and pointing out the bubbles coming out of the phone was indicative of the possibility to shrink the components even further despite his top engineers' dissent. He was not an engineer and could be called an amateur at best, but he was still able to identify deficiences that the top brilliant minds couldn't. By being an outsider, his thinking was not boxed into what the experts are the time thought was "the edge of possibility". As such, outsiders can and have provided critical judgement into fields, where they were not experts in, and have contributed greatly to the advancement of the field, so critical judgement should not be just be the purview of experts.

However, some may argue that certain professionals like lawyers and doctors are so specialized that there is no role a novice can play in such niche fields. This cannot be further from the truth. With increasing technological advances, computer programmers are encroaching into such specialized fields. For example Google has built an artifical intelligent program that could remove bias and provide a more accurate diagonisis from MRI scans than even the most seasoned doctors. In such cases, an outsider can demonstrate the value their insights can bring to the table.

To sum up, outsiders be they novice from another field or a complete upstart could potentially provide insightful critical judgements. As such, their judgements should not be discounted. Experts may be the leading authorities in their field, but they too can be blinded a peripheral perspective and pre-existing biases. And in such cases, a novice or upstart can provide the valuable insights to help jolt the advancement of the field.