Governments officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Government officials are elected by the people to serve the people. With that line of thinking, many citizens often feel that officials should be compelled to support policies in line with the voices of the public regardless of the context. I strongly disagree with this line of thinking and is of the opinion that government officials must retain their own judgement instead of blindly following the will of the public. I have two specific reasons for dissenting, which will be further elaborated below.

Firstly, the public tends to be short-sighted and may not have the long-term foresight required to ensure the long-term prosperity of the country. Singapore is one of the best examples where the public has frequently voiced out previously on the budget surplus that has been channelled to the reserves over the years instead of distributing it to the public. This is a very common phenomenon where the citizens strongly advocate for government payout at the expense of a lower reserve as they are of the short term mindset of having money now in their pockets. However, the officials' decision to continue to build up a reserve has paid off in the current unprecedented COVID-19 crisis. With the huge reserves built up over the years, the government is able to provide generous funding to create new jobs and support enterprises through this challenging time. Thus, it is important that officials have their own critical long-term thinking instead of blindly following the popular public opinion to ensure a propitious future outcome.

Secondly, with the advent of social media, the public can be easily swayed by misleading headlines. The US government under President Trump advocated for the use of an untested drug to stave off COVID-19 because the public is advocating for a treatment option and there is a tenuous link that a certain drug worked. As a result, there were unneeded fatalities as the drug proved to be ineffective and even harmful. This example underscores the importance of officials thinking for themselves, instead of supporting the popular opinion of the day. Thus, highlighting that officials should not be blindly following the will of the public.

Some may argue that government officials are ultimately elected by the people to represent and carry out their wishes. As such, they must adhere to the will of the people who voted them into office. However, this line of thinking is flawed. Officials are voted into office to not just represent a single group of people, but the whole nation. There is a need for them to evaluate policies in the context of the well-being of the nation, not just a group of people even if they are the majority.

To conclude, we as citizens vote for government officials who will ensure the future of our country and in turn, our lives will continue to be a prosperous one. That entails allowing our elected officials to do their job with a long-term and objective perspective in mind, even if it means going against the popular public opinion.