If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Looking through the perspective of a utilitarian, if the majority stands to benefit, then the choice will gravitate towards trying to attain this benefit. The prompt elevates this perspective to the next level deeming that as long as a worthwhile goal can be achieved, the end justifies the means. I strongly disagree with the prompt that the end justifies the means for two reasons.

Firstly, basic morals should never be abandoned in the pursuit of a worthy goal as it could potentially lead to a slippery slope of catastrophic events. What differentiates us from animal is that we as human have a basic code of conduct that we adhere to, otherwise we would fall into depravity and be no different from animals. One pertinent example will be genetic research. The international community is aligned in that there are certain genetic research which can out of bound like cloning of humans. The cloning of humans is a topic of immeasurable value as it will provide more insightful drug interaction data without harming an "actual human". But then it begs the question, is a clone an "actual human"? It has been the existential debate among the scientific community, but one thing is certain, a clone can feel pain and think, which are key characteristics of an "actual human". And treating clones as "fake human" would be a huge compromise to our moral standards. What's next? The disabled and elderly are not human enough and should be used for testing? This example underscores the potential slippery slope and deleterious impact to society's moral fabric that pursuing a worthy cause might lead to, as such a worthy goal should not be pursued at all costs.

Secondly, there could be hidden side-effects that could materialize in the future that may not be accounted for in the single-minded pursuit of the worthy goal. By single-mindedly pursuing a worthy cause, you might just ignore the material future implications which you might not be able to foresee currently. One example will be the COVID-19 vaccine development. It is no doubt a worthy cause to get a vaccine out to everyone as soon as possible, so the world could resume normalcy again. However, there is a rationale behind the arduous process of drug development - to ensure that the drug is safe and effective. Speeding up the process would compromise on the safety of the consumers using the final vaccine. The vaccine might turn out not to be effective and lead to the world having a false sense of security, in turn exacerbating the COVID-19 spread instead. Further, there could also be undiscovered side-effects missed because the trials were rushed. Therefore, even though some goals might be worthy, the process to achieve it must be a measured one to fully assess the potential side-effects that could be missed in a single-minded pursuit.

Some may argue that the ends justify the means, for the sake of the many, it is only right to sacrifice a few. However, proponents of this line of thought fail to consider that a single-minded pursuit may not necessarily end up benefiting the majority. As highlighted in the case over, a rushed out vaccine may temporarily benefit the masses whereby they get to enjoy normalcy in their lives again, but this comes at the expense of potentially contacting the disease which could potentially lead to their deaths. In such a case, the masses are the ones being sacrificed. Therefore, I am of the opinion that the ends do not justify the means. Regardless of the worthiness of a cause, the approach to reach it should not be a single-minded one.