The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The memorandum from the president of Humana University advocates for the initiation and active promotion of online degree programs like those at nearby Omni University to reduce budget deficit. This recommendation is based on two reasons: increasing demand for online degrees and allowing for a decrease in facility maintenance costs. However, this line of reasoning requires further enquiries to ascertain the validity of the recommendation. The following are three assumptions that have to be addressed.

Firstly, there could have been other factors that led to the decrease in facility maintenance costs at Omni, not just higher online enrollment. Omni might have just completed a recent remodelling of its entire facilities recently. As such, given the prime condition of its facilities, it is able to reduce facility maintenance expenditure. On the other hand, Humana's facilities might be very old and will require a high maintenance costs regardless of the shift to online classes. Thus, the maintenance costs might not change significantly and the budget deficit issue will persist even with the shift to online degree programs.

Secondly, there is an implicit assumption that online degree popularity at Omni last year will translate to Humana. This might not hold true in all cases. The online enrollment spike at Omni might have been a one-off event resulting from an unprecedented event for example a pandemic like COVID-19, which prevents students from going to classes. In such cases, if the impact one-off event has attenuated, students might not be as willing to enroll for online courses. Further, it could also be that the most popular online degree programs were for courses like Data Analytics which Humana may not have the capability of offering. As such even if Humana introduces online degree programs, there may not be students who take up the program and Humana will not be able to generate higher revenue to cover its budget deficit.

Thirdly, the costs of introducing an online degree programs should also be taken into account. Humana might not have the existing infrastructure to provide such programs and might have to invest heavily in high tech infrastructures. In doing so, if the receptiveness of the programs is poor as highlighted above, the budget deficit situation might worsen as it spends more than what it can earn from introducing online degree programs. As such, a more careful look into the setup cost for online degree programs is critical in assessing whether the recommendation can indeed resolve the budget deficit.

To sum up, there are still various factors that Humana has to evaluate before making the final decision to commit to introducing and promoting online degree programs. Without evaluating these factors, Humana might end up in a worse position should my above scenario of lacklustre demand, high setup costs and limited impact on facility maintenance costs play out.