Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Can government fund the education of the entire country? Perhaps not. While government can fund partly, the education costs are too high to be provided entirely by the government. Teachers need to be paid and there are several costs required to main an institution.

To begin with, free education will lead to lack of income of teachers. The government can’t provide teachers completely. For instance, if the students do not pay fees, teachers will not be willing to work in the meagre income which government will provide. Teachers are the backbone of school. Thus, the education sector will start falling. So, adequate money is necessary for providing the required income. Without the student’s fees, this won’t be possible.

Furthermore, an institution requires funds for maintenance of its infrastructure. The building needs to be upgraded regularly. Research work also needs funds for carrying out experiments. The substances used cannot remain intact lifetime. For example, in chemistry lab, beakers, flasks and other such items break. Also, there is a need for continuous supply of chemicals. If a person is doing research, he will use a lot of substances for accurate results.

Some may argue that education is the basic necessity and therefore should not be charged. This may seem good but is not practical considering the enormous cost required for education. Students up to a certain age can be educated free of cost. The senior students should pay atleast the bare minimum. They can do part time jobs.

To sum up, it is nearly impossible for government to provide free education to all students. Each of the two should pay for proper functioning of education system. Education should be free up to an limit.