Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The author contends that governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development. I agree that government should impose restrictions on certain scientific research which perhaps creates social chaos, however, it should not place prohibitions in the scientific field which can further advance the mankind because of the following reasons.

First of all, it is unwarranted to say that the scientific research and development always does good for mankind. Instead, in some cases it deteriorates the society and creates ethical questions. For supporting example, the scientific research and development in the sector of clone. Scientist were able to create successful sheep cone in nineteen century, however, seeing that progress, that creates huge debate in US about the possible consequences in the society if the human clone is done in the world. That arguable may create social as well ethical chaos, pointing that the possible outcome, US government suddenly decided to ban the research and development in the sector of animal cloning. If that was not done earlier, we may have facing the social chaos now. So government should place few restrictions on such scientific advancement which potentially creates the social disorder.

Secondly, there should not be placed any restrictions on the scientific research and development which has potential to create a great social advantage, For example, the advancement of rockets, medicine, education, physics, and AI. The development of advance rockets helps us to migrate to another planets and that might be good for mankind since after that we will be a multi-planetary species. The earth is fragile, in any time any asteroid may hit the planet that can sweep our species. Hence, the future of mankind is greatly benefited from the advancement of rockets and other subordinated. Hence, in such field placing restrictions might be counterproductive to mankind. Additionally, in the field of medicine, similarly, the restrictions should not be imposed since the advancement of medicines will greatly helps us to increase our life-span and quality of life.

Third of all, in reality it is really hard to say which one is ethical and which has potential to benefit mankind in the future, it is the great topic of debate. However, on the basis of simple fundamental things, we are trying to speculate that field which creates social chaos and which not.

In conclusion, government should take the wide-range of people's advice and suggestions before restricting or lifting any particular field's research and development.