Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research and development has grown in leaps and bounds in the past two decades. Government policies have had tremendous impact on the rate of this growth. The prompt recommends that government should place few restrictions, if necessary, on scientific research and development. I strongly agree with this recommendation and argue with the following two reasons.

To begin, research is the backbone of many developed nations hence scientists should be encouraged and given the freedom to exercise their research prowess. For instance, if a nation places restrictions on scientific research, most researchers would be discouraged. They would be reluctant to tread paths that have restrictions because naturally, people prefer to travel on paths with the least resistance. Such neglected paths may possess in them answers to the pressing problems the nation may be confronted with. If the paths researchers detests due to restrictions are pregnant with solutions to global challenges, these challenges will persist and continue to affect the nation and the world at large. In addition, research is hard work on its own, and researchers should not be forced to go through more work of dealing with restrictions. They should be encouraged work more effectively through absolute support from the government.

Secondly, most researchers are people of integrity and should be trusted by the government to contribute their research skills to the development of the nation. Training researchers is a wholesome task that takes many years to be completed. Along with research skills, these professionals have also been trained on how to apply the skill they have acquired. Otherwise, the training institution has failed by giving a sharp knife to a child that can injure itself with it. In the university, for instance, the training of a chemist is not restricted to the knowledge of chemistry. Courses are designed to build him or her, not only in the research area, but also in personality. Therefore, the nation should trust them enough to do what is right at every instance. There is no need to put in restrictions that would hinder the creativity of these well-trained professionals fighting for the common good of everyone.

Others may argue that these researchers have tendencies to engage in unhealthy research practices. However, is that not exactly why there should be no restrictions so that researchers who have such tendencies can be sieved out and their licenses retrieved from them so that they can no longer carry out research? Placing restrictions for such would only increase researchers who have tendencies for unethical practices.