Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Science is the main deriving force of any nation to reach prosperity and its velocity of development is in direct relation but not limited to authorities’ restrictions. Some believe that political power should determine the circumscribe in which scientific researches should be developed, however this rather myopic viewpoint is dismissed by others by stating that curiosity of main kind knows no boundary for its advancement. With a logical approach to this controversial topic, I am of the conviction that legal controlling damage scientific and technological advancements beyond repairable, especially given free and critical spirit of scientist and brain drain danger.

Free and critical spirit of scientist implies that scientific innovation and breakthrough can only happen in a free of confinement environment. One reason for this is that the essence of is entangled with free movement in any direction, putting any rustication on free movement of this advancement under any excuse including national security could easily parish it, not to say if not futile. For example, North Korea nuclear science is a good case in point. If this country with its dictator leader had a free country with freedom for every citizen including its scientist may flourish their county in many filed not just hostile ones. However, the contrasting opinion holds that restriction like for national security is important for preventing data bridge, which could be refused by simply saying that under rampant espionage it is unlikely any secret remains a secret for long.

Brain drain danger illustrates the fact that not only limitations could ruin the creativity of scholars, but also if it exceeds the comfort zone of the science men may make them to seek refuge in more free countries. The mentioned fact is based on the observation that one of the major immigration of high-IQ people are from restricted countries toward free world. For instance, I recently have read a paper that how incremental limitations of the government in developing countries like Iran has accelerated this phenomenon. Those who disagree think that patriot people never bail their homeland just for science; nevertheless, it could be easily dismissed by the notion that scientists mainly believe their knowledge is for humanity and not for a specific country.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the mindset favoring placing few governmental restrictions on science research and advancement can actually do more harm than good, because should an idea be effective, it would at least consider the scientists’ free spirit and danger of brains drain. Moreover, this gives me the impression that any prevention on the path of science is not acceptable. Furthermore, sight must not be lost of national security matters.