Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Scientific research and development is important for the development of any country. The prompt attempts to address this issue by the government should have some restrictions on scientific research and development. However, I mostly agree with this position for two reasons that will be outlined below. But, I do concede that in extreme cases there should be unrestricting on scientific research and development.

To begin with, the government should have some limitation on scientific research and development: outcome of scientific research can be used for both constructive purpose as well as destructive purpose. For example, the energy produced by nuclear reaction can be used for generation of power, but nuclear energy can also be utilized for producing weapons for mass destructive. If there would have restriction for production of nuclear energy, there wouldn't be nuclear attack on Hiroshima of japan. The nuclear attack on japan caused large mass destruction. Although nuclear energy is important for human, but if it is used in wrong way it will lead to destruction. The mass destruction due to nuclear weapon corroborate that scientific research and development on nuclear energy should be limited.

Admittedly, government should have restriction on the development of virus: virus harmful to the human can cause pandemic outbreak of disease. For example, many people believed that corona is developed by scientist as a weapon but not confirm; if it is true then it has killed millions of people and destroy many lives. If government had put restriction on such type of research then we wouldn't have face whatever we faced today. Medicine are boon to human if utilized properly otherwise curse to humanbeing. With the intention to earn much money, many private company are producing inundate amount of medicine and sell as drug.

We all knew that scientist are working in the field of animal cloning, producing clone alike of parent, which is beneficial for society. But if it is utilized by wrong person then that will lead to crimes. One's can clone alike their enemy and does social crime to frame their enemy. Nowadays, human trafficking is increasing, if some group of researcher started developing lab baby and started human trafficking. So such type of research should be restricted by government.

However, some scientific research and development have pernicious effect, researcher should have freedom to choose topic so they can dedicated towards the research topic that will enable science develop effectively and benefit society: scientific research results are safe. For example, nuclear energy production is safe but application is deleterious. So there shouldn't be restriction choosing topic for research.

To conclude, I argued that scientific research and development have both pernicious and innocuous effect so government should have some restriction on scientific research and development but i do concede that there shouldn't be any limitation on choosing research topic and exploring new thing. There should be limitation after the discovery if implementation is deleterious.