Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the author concludes that Omega University should terminate student evaluation of the professors to enable its graduates to secure better jobs. The author comes to conclusion based on several premises ( grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect the student's achievement and the Omega graduates have not been successful at getting jobs as have graduated from nearby Alpha University). While the assertion from the author might prove true, as it stands now, the argument relies on three unwarranted assumptions that hinder its credibility.

First of all, the author assumes that professors give a higher grade to students to receive a better evaluation from the students, but that might not be the case. For example, the professor might have worked hard to provide better education to receive a better evaluation from the students. In addition, over the fifteen years, Omega University may have brighter students, the students might get a higher grade, and the teacher feels easy to teach them. If either scenario above proves true, then the author's argument that the professor gives higher grades to receive a better evaluation from the students does not hold water.

Moreover, the author presumes, without justification, that the source of the job recruitment is valid. However, this might not be true. For example, that might be the strategy of other universities to degrade the reputation of Omega University. In addition, the graduates from Omega University might have started their own business. In addition, the Omega University students might be research-oriented rather than industries oriented. If it is true that the information related to recruitment is invalid then the author's contention is considerably hampered.

Finally, the author assumes that Alpha University has not implemented the professor evaluation technique. However, that might not be true. For example, Alpha University might have implemented better teacher evaluation techniques that might have increased the recruitment from the Alpha University. In addition, Alpha University might have implemented other programs to secure good jobs. If either scenario above proves true, then the conclusion is not justifiable.

In conclusion, the author may be correct in concluding that students can secure better jobs if Omega University terminates students' evaluations of professors. However, as it stands now, the conclusion rests on three unwarranted pieces of evidence that hinder its validity. If the author would like to increase the persuasiveness of his conclusion, he needs to answer the three questions above.