Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

According to author all the governments should place minimal restrictions on scientific research and development. I agree to some extent to this, but on certain conditions. The assumptions it makes is that the restrictions are purely beauraucratic in nature, which might not always be the case. Consider for example, the restrictions imposed on experimenting untested medicines on humans, sure opposing side might say that this is necessary for progression of science, but there is a set need of guidelines and regulations which the some body has to established. In this case, where the medicines are tested on animals and they do not show any side effects. Even then, the individuals should be closely monitored.

Apart from that corporations might indulge in idiosyncracies which do not have any "scientific need". Take for example the drug oxycotin, it was claimed to be non-addictive and was according them needed for pain management. It had devastating impacts on some individuals who were over-prescribed the drug and hence got addicted to them. Without the intervention of the government to put some restrictions on the company, it would have thrived even more. It also validated that restrictions are also placed in to make sure that other companies do not use the some malpractices.

However, that is not to say that goverment restrictions are always good. Consider this scenario where the government put restrictions on researching nuclear energy, because it thinks it to be dangerous. The scientific community would stronly oppose such an idea as within "certain conditions", one can research on nuclear energy and think how it can lead to better quality of life for human beings. Consider the case during cold war, scientists of USSR and USA were not able to collaborate on scientific research, due to restrictions imposed by both of their government. One could imagine that if they were working together, they could share their knowledge and expertise in variety of scientific domains like Space technologies, Nuclear energy, Computer science and engineering, etc. After the fall of soviet union, they did work on some domains like in space, where they built the International space station together and on Computer science and engineering but imagine if they had started collaborating decades ago. One could not imagine to think that even Chernobyl could have been avoided if USA would have share some of it's Nuclear powerplant technologies, which it uses to ensure safety.

In other cases, during the late 19th century, a highly passionate and intelligent student was not admitted to any university in Poland, as they had restrictions on not allowing any women to contribute in the field of science and technology. The student was none other than Marie Curie, imagine such idiotic restrictions which do not have any scientific or logical backing, ones which are purely beauracratic in naturea.Restrictions which do not have scientific and congency supported on them, should not be put into place. There is a set of regulations needed to maintain prosperity in scientific research and development to main order and avoid chaos. At the same time, should not get overwhelming where it hinders innovation.